Part of the Salisbury Diocese of the Church of England
Christ Church is a light and airy Victorian church built in 1840. It stands in the heart of the village between the vicarage, the primary school and the village hall. The church is open every day and the handsome spire is often lit at night through sponsorship and can be seen from many miles away.
St Martin’s Church was built c.1200. It was altered in 1850 and 1864 with only the tower and other perpendicular work left untouched and has a square 14th century tower. William Lisle Bowles (24 September 1762 – 7 April 1850) was an English poet and critic and in 1804 became vicar of Bremhill.
The parish church of Saint John the Baptist was designed by the Gothic Revival architect William Butterfield and built in 1878-81. It includes a stained glass window made in about 1855 that was part of the east window of St Martin’s parish church, Bremhill.
St Mary the Virgin stands proudly on the site of an earlier Saxon Minster. Its outer appearance, a skillful blend of stone masons’ art of five centuries, is Perpendicular, a feast of embattled parapets and pinnacles. A mighty 17th Century North Transept Tower replaces the fallen crossing tower.
This is a truly delightful church set back among trees just off the A4, to the East of Calne centre. Holy Trinity Church was built in the 19th century by the then Vicar of Calne, Canon John Guthrie, to meet the needs of the growing community of Quemerford.
St Peter’s Church dates from at least the 13th Century. There was a church here at the time of the Domesday survey, when it was described as being in very poor condition. The oldest visible part of the church is the chancel which still has its original trussed rafter roof. The bell that tolls at St Peter’s today has done so for over 300 years.